Ugandan Veterinarian, Dr Naluyima is the co-winner of 2019 Africa Food Prize.

Dr Emma Naluyima, a Ugandan private veterinary doctor and Mr Baba Dioum, a Senegalese forestry engineer were on Wednesday 4th of September 2019 announced as the joint winners of the US $100,000 award 2019 Africa Food Prize during the African Green Revolution Forum (AGRF) which held in Accra, Ghana.

Dr. Naluyima has been recognized for her role in promoting innovative and sustainable growth in Africa´s agriculture. She operates a one acre farm in Entebbe, Uganda, on which she raise pigs, cows, fish and matoke/vegetables in an integrated system that ensures recirculation and efficient utilisation of the wastes from the different sections of the farm. In addition she organizes training for young and adult minds and has trained thousands of Ugandans to maximize yields from compact pieces of land.

While unveiling the 2019 AFP winners,  Naluyima and Dioum, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, former President of Nigeria and chair of the Africa Food Prize Committee praised the duo for their commitment to moving African agriculture forward.

“What most strikes me about this year´s winners is how their academic and professional success has gone hand in hand with their success as farmers,”

“The two have shown that agriculture in Africa can be the means to changing livelihoods, both at the practical and policy levels. We celebrate them and we hope they will continue to serve as an inspiration to the continent,”

“Rather than turn away from the countryside like so many others, they have embraced farming, using their talents and knowledge to demonstrate its enormous commercial possibilities. In other words, they practice what they preach, and this lends real credibility to their message about the value of technical and policy innovation in agriculture.” said Obasanjo

Dr Naluyima has previously worked for the National Animal Genetic Resources Centre and Data Bank and also on the personal dairy farm of President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni of Uganda. She was a keynote speaker at the 2014 World Food Prize award and also a 2015 Aspen New Voices Fellow. Together with her husband, she has been inculcating her rich experiences and deep values in young minds through the primary school they set up, still on their one-acre plot, that gives special emphasis to science and technology for its close to 300 students.

Dr Naluyima expressed her great delight at the AFP award.   “I feel honoured to be a winner of the Africa Food Prize, and hope this connects me with new sources of knowledge to share. A passion to succeed is not enough; you also need knowledge, of which I am always in search.” said Dr. Naluyima.

The Africa Food Prize is the preeminent award recognizing an outstanding individual or institution that is leading the effort to change the reality of farming in Africa—from a struggle to survive to a business that thrives. It began as the Yara Prize in 2005 established by Yara International ASA in Norway to honor achievements in African agriculture. The Yara Prize was moved to Africa in 2016 and renamed the Africa Food Prize.

Past laureates of YARA/AFP awards are:

  • 2005  – Late Meles Zenawi,   Prime Minister of Ethiopia
  • 2006 –  Celina Cossa, Founder and President, General Union of Agricultural Cooperatives, Mozambique   Fidelis Wainaina,   Founder of The Maseno Inter-Christian Child Self Help Group, Kenya
  • 2007  – Dr. Akinwumi Adesina, Interim Vice President, Alliance for a Green Revolution i Africa, Kenya – The Rockefeller Foundation, USA                                                                                                         Josephine Okot, Founder and Managing Director, Victoria Seeds Ltd, Uganda
  • 2008 –  Dr. Florence M. Wambugu, Founder and CEO, Africa Harvest Biotech Foundation International (AHBFI), Kenya                                                                                                                                           Victor Mfinanga,  Founder and Managing Director, Shambani Graduates Enterprises Co. Limited, Tanzania
  • 2009 –  Peter Munga  Chairman, Equity Bank Limited and National Oil Corporation of Kenya Limited National Smallholder Farmers’ Association of Malawi (NASFAM)
  • 2012 –  Dr. Agnes Matilda Kalibata, Minister of Agriculture and Animal Resources,  Rwanda                                                                                                                                                             Dr. Eleni Z. Gabre-Madhin, Former CEO, Ethiopian Commodity Exchange (ECX)
  • 2013  – Dr. Lindiwe Majele Sibanda, CEO, Food, Agriculture and Natural Resources Policy Analysis Network (FANRPAN)                                                                                                                           Nnaemeka C. Ikegwuonu, Founder and CEO, Smallholders Foundation, Nigeria
  • 2014  – The Late Professor Tekalign Mamo Assefa,  Minister of Agriculture, Ethiopia
  • 2015  – Eric Kaduru, Founder and CEO, Kadafrica, Uganda                                                                           Dr. Ousmane Badiane, Director for Africa, International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) 
  • 2016 –  Dr. Kanayo F. Nwanze, President of the International Fund For Agricultural Development (IFAD)
  • 2017 –  Professor Ruth Oniang’o, Leading Academic Expert in Food Security and Nutrition from Kenya                                                                                                                                                               Mrs Maïmouna Sidibe Coulibaly, Founder & Owner of Faso Kaba Seed Company, Mali
  • 2018 – International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA), Nigeria


Copyright Livestonews.
All Rights Reserved. All materials from Livestonews can be reproduced, published, broadcasted, redristributed and shared in whole or in part only with due acknowledgement / reference of Livestonews as the source.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button