Prof, Adesehinwa is the New Secretary of All Africa Society of Animal Production

Professor Akinyele Oluwatomisin Kingsley ADESEHINWA was on 1st August 2019 elected as the new secretary of the All Africa Society of Animal Production (AASAP) during the 7th All African Conference of Animal Agriculture (AACAA) which held in Accra, Ghana. He contested the coveted position with Dr Samuel Mbuku, President of Animal Production Society of Kenya, who was also a member of the International Organizing Committee for the 7th AACAA. Professor Adesehinwa has since assumed duties as the new scribe of AASAP.

Livestonews brings you the profile of Professor Adesehinwa

Academic Career

Professor Adesehinwa studied at the premier University of Ibadan, where he obtained B.Sc (Animal Science), M.Sc (Agricultural Biochemistry and Nutrition), and PhD (Animal Science) in 1997. He started his academic and research career in 1992 as Livestock Extension Specialist in the National Agricultural Extension and Research Liaison Services (NAERLS), Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, from where he transferred his service to the Institute of Agricultural Research and Training, Ibadan under Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife in 2003. He rose to the rank of Research Professor in Animal Science in the same Institution in 2010. He also had a certificate training in Pig Stocksmanship at JSR Genetics in the United Kingdom in 2012. He has over 27 years of Academic, Research and Technology Transfer Experience in Animal Science and Livestock Production Systems, both nationally and internationally.

Fellowship/Membership of Professional Bodies

  • Registered Animal Scientist in Nigeria (RAS)
  • Fellow of the Nigerian Institute of Animal Science (FNIAS)
  • Certified Animal Scientists and Technologists in the United Kingdom
  • Fellow of Ghana Society of Animal Production (FGSAP)
  • Fellow of Animal Science Association of Nigeria (FASAN)
  • Fellow of the College of Animal Scientists of Nigeria (FCASN)
  • Fellow, Nigerian Society for Animal Production (NSAP)
  • Member, British Society of Animal Science (BSAS)
  • Member, World Poultry Science Association – Nigerian Branch (WPSA-NB)
  • Member, American Society of Animal Science (ASAS)
  • Member, Ghana Animal Science Association (GASA)
  • Member, Pig Farmers Association of Nigeria (PFAN)
  • Member, Poultry Association of Nigeria (PAN)

Professional Responsibilities

Professor Adesehinwa has been a Governing Council member of the Nigeria Institute of Animal Science since 2011. He currently chairs the Animal Biotechnology Science discipline of the Institute after serving two terms as the Chairman of the Swine Production Science Discipline. He is also the Chairman of the Institute’s Membership Committee and Secretary to the Board of Fellows’ Membership and Ethics Committee. He has served as Head – Livestock Improvement Programme and on several Committees of the Institute of Agricultural Research & Training and Faculty of Agriculture, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife; Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria and University of Ibadan, Ibadan at various times. He served for several years as the Publicity Secretary and later General Secretary, apart from being one of the Founding Members of the Animal Science Association of Nigeria (ASAN).

He currently heads and conducts research in Monogastric Livestock Production Unit at the Institute of Agricultural Research & Training, Ibadan and teaches same at the Department of Animal Sciences, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife. He is the Principal Investigator for Korea-Africa Food & Agriculture Cooperation Initiative (KAFACI) Livestock Research Projects in Nigeria and National President of Pig Farmers Association of Nigeria (PFAN).

Academic Prowess

Professor Adesehinwa has published over hundred (100) articles in reputable peer reviewed local, national and international journals, apart from over fifty (50) Research Papers Presented at Annual Conference Meetings, Workshops and contained in Edited Conference Proceedings. He is widely travelled continentally and globally – Ghana, Sierra Leone, Benin, Togo, Senegal, Kenya, Egypt, Ethiopia, Zimbabwe, USA, UK, Netherlands, Taiwan, Turkey, Ireland, Thailand, Austria, South Korea among others.

He is a recipient of several distinctions, awards, fellowships and grants both nationally and internationally such as: Bassir-Thomas Biomedical Foundation Research Grant; World Poultry Science Association Travel Fellowship; National Chung-Hsing University, Taiwan Research & Travel Grant; USA Travel Fellowship; CTA Travel Fellowship;  Poultry Science Foundation Award; OXFAM-GB, U.K. Study & Travel Award; USAID-West Africa Trade Hub (WATH/A) Award; International Atomic Energy Agency Travel Grant; TWAS-ROSSA Research Grant & Travel Award; UNEP Travel Grant; Korea-Africa Food & Agriculture Cooperation Initiative (KAFACI) Research and Travel Grants, and  CORAF/WECARD Research and Travel Grants among others.

He has served on the Editorial Board of several reputable, peer reviewed journals in Nigeria and overseas. He is External Examiner/Assessor to many tertiary Institutions, both nationally and internationally.

Prof. Adesehinwa is married to Dr. Olayinka (an accomplished Counselling Psychologist) and they are blessed with God fearing children.


The All Africa Society for Animal Production (AASAP) is an association of individuals, groups and institutions which have interest in the art, science and practice of animal sciences relevant for animal agriculture. These include animal nutrition and feeding, genetics and breeding, health, welfare, and other aspects of husbandry. The AASAP is a member of the World Association of Animal Production (with its secretariat in Rome). The main objective of AASAP is to facilitate the use of technical, policy and institutional innovations to address current and emerging challenges of African animal agriculture through engagement of communities of practitioners in Africa and beyond.

The executive members to direct the affairs of AASAP untill 2022 when the 8th AACAA will hold in Botswana are.

President: Dr Tadelle Dessie
Secretary: Prof.  Kingsly Adesehinwa
Treasurer: Prof. Dr Mizeck Chagunda
Committee members:
Prof Othusitse Madibela
Dr Chinyere Ekine-Dzivenu
Dr Richard Osei-Amponsah
Prof Ed Rege (Ex-Officio members:)

Copyright Livestonews.
All Rights Reserved. All materials from Livestonews can be reproduced, published, broadcasted, redristributed and shared in whole or in part only with due acknowledgement / reference of Livestonews as the source.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button