FUNAM Agric won the First Dr Bode Adetoyi NAAS National Debate Competition

Agricultural students representing the Federal University of Agriculture, Markudi (FUNAM) has won the First edition of “Dr Bode Adetoyi NAAS National Debate Competition”.

The competition was part of the 2019 annual convention of the Nigerian Association of Agricultural Students (NAAS) which held from 20 – 23 August 2019 at the University of Ilorin, Ilorin, Kwara state. NAAS is the parent body for all agricultural students in the country and serves as a nexus between youths in agriculture and various governmental and nongovernmental bodies that aid human capital development. This year convention is the third after the first and second conventions held at the University of Abuja and Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, respectively.

The 2019 convention also incorporated the “DR ADETOYI OLABODE NAAS NATIOAL DEBATE COMPETITION” which was named after the honoree, Dr. Adetoyi  Olabode, the founder and C.E.O of Hi -Nutrients International Limited. The topic of the 2019 debate was ‘Technological Advancement in Agricture: Hinderance to Youth’s Active Participation’. The winner at each of the six geopolitical zones met in Ilorin for the “the battle of the titans”.

The finalists were Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdi, Benue State (re presented by Lorliam Magdalene and Ngor Daniel Aondohemba);  Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti, Ekiti State( represented by Didunyemi Adekunle and Ezeh Chidinma Mary); Nnamdi Azikwe University, Okwa, Anambra State(represented by Obi Ifenayi Francis and Eyinnaya Steve Chisom) and University of Ilorin, Ilorin, Kwara state(represented by Oluyomi Nancy Banke and Ekong Rosemary John). At the end of the debate which was witnessed by notable professors of Agriculture and moderated by unbiased referees, the pair representing Federal University of Agriculture, Makurdi (FUNAM) won the coveted certificate and a cash prize of fifty thousand naira only. Nnamdi  Azikwe University and Ekiti State University won thirty thousand and twenty thousand naira only as the first and second runners up, respectively.

FUNAM Team receiving the First prize from Dr Bode Adetoyi
NAU Team receiving the second prize from Dr Bode Adetoyi
EKSU Team receiving the third prize from Dr Bode Adetoyi

The national election of NAAS held during the 2019 convention also saw Mr Nwuguru Obinna  N.  of Ebonyi State University emerged as the National President for the 2019/2020 administrative year.


Copyright Livestonews.
All Rights Reserved. All materials from Livestonews can be reproduced, published, broadcasted, redristributed and shared in whole or in part only with due acknowledgement / reference of Livestonews as the source.

Leave a Reply

Back to top button